Castle of Digoine

The Pearl of Charolais

The castle of Digoine is a heritage jewel from the 18th century that still bears witness to a rich and long past. It formed part of the first out of four Baronnies from the Charolais and these lords had a leading role at the court of the Dukes of Burgundy.

The castle history goes back to 1390 when Robert of Damas marries Marie of Digoine, the ultimate representative of the family. Under the name ‘de Damas de Digoine’, they erected impressive towers on the northern façade, with two other towers connected by dry ditches which also frames the iron gate of honour and will end to integrate the castle in the medieval area.

Engraving of the Northern facade

It is not until the end of the 18th century that the castle is transformed in lavish living quarters, dropping its defence function and adopting its definitive appearance. These transformations are made by the Reclesne family, who hope for a magnificent renewal. With that purpose, renovations start in 1723 and will be pursued for fifty years.

In 1750, halfway through the renovation process, the Reclesne family turns to the architect from Burgundy named Edmé Verniquet. He is known for the castles in St-Aubin-sur-Loire or Lugny-lès-Charolles in the region. First, he shapes the northern façade in a baroque-style, with mascarons which ornate the large central avant-corps. Then, he builds the magnificent southern façade in an easily recognizable pattern: on the centre of the façade, three French doors are framed by four other windows with a pediment on the top. This architectural body reflects the evolution of the French architecture during that period.

Portrait of Edme Verniquet

Southern facade

At the beginning of the 19th century, the wedding of the Earl Aimé de Chabrillan, Great Chamberlain in France of Napoleon 1st, with the countess Zéphyrine Olympe de Choiseul Gouffier, seals the transmission of the Estate to the Chabrillan family. They evolve in an incredible splendour, as the new owners continue the works to embellish the castle that their ancestors had started. Undeniable marker of the economic, social and political supremacy of this family, Digoine is growing spectacularly between 1825 and 1842. Indeed, an exotic greenhouse including an underfloor heating system unusually modern, a library in burr elm and a private theatre will be added to an already significant legacy. In addition, fabulous scenery with one from the sculptor Clodion, are installed in the majestic rooms of the castle.

Countess of Moreton Chabrillan by Paulin Guérin

Stair of honor

Library

Garden of rose, greenhouse and castle - Southern facade

In 1908, the marquise de Croix bought the estate for her son Pierre, who then lived on the domain for three generations. However, in 2012, problems of joint ownership forced the family to sell the castle. Jean-Louis Rémilleux bought it back then and is still the current owner nowadays. In the first place, he bought the castle empty, then, tried to purchase the historical piece of furniture that used to compose the castle during a big auction sale in Paris. Furthermore, as an enthusiast of antiques, he added his own collection in the majestic rooms of the castle, while taking scrupulous care that all the elements were coherent with the period of the room in which they are. Finally, he undertook great works of renovations in order to bring back to this ‘Charolais pearl’ its original radiance.

Central living room

en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Château de Digoine

– La Perle du Charolais –

Fleuron du patrimoine du XVIIIe siècle, le Château de Digoine demeure le témoin d’un riche et long passé. S’inscrivant comme la première des quatre baronnies du Charolais, ses seigneurs tinrent une place prépondérante à la cour des Ducs de Bourgogne.

L’histoire du château remonte à 1390 lorsque Robert de Damas épouse Marie de Digoine, l’ultime représentante de la famille. Sous le nom de Damas de Digoine, ils firent ériger les imposantes tours de la façade nord, octroyant à l’édifice ses premiers éléments défensifs. Puis, au bout de l’esplanade Sud, deux autres tours reliées par des douves sèches viendront encadrer la grille d’honneur et achèveront d’intégrer le château à l’ère médiévale.

Gravure représentant la façade Nord

Il faut attendre la fin du XVIIIe siècle pour que le Château de Digoine évolue en logis d’agrément et adopte son apparence définitive. Cette transformation est impulsée par les Reclesne, une riche famille nivernaise qui après avoir rachetée les terres du domaine se met à rêver d’un renouveau plus fastueux. Ainsi, en 1723 sont entrepris les premiers travaux de reconstruction ; ces derniers se poursuivront durant presque cinquante ans.

En 1750, à mi-parcours, la famille de Reclesne fait appel à l’architecte bourguignon Edmé Verniquet. Connu pour avoir fait rayonner les châteaux de St-Aubin-sur-Loire, de Lugny-lès-Charolles ou du Vigneau à Bourbon-Lancy, Verniquet accepte de mettre son talent au service de la famille de Reclesne. D’abord il modèle la façade Nord dans un style baroque d’influence Louis XIV, ornant l’ensemble d’un très bel avant corps central et de magnifiques mascarons. Ensuite il érige la somptueuse façade Sud dans un schéma particulièrement reconnaissable : sur le corps central, trois portes-fenêtres en façade d’entrée encadrées à gauche et à droite de trois autres fenêtres avec un fronton installé au sommet. Tout cet ensemble reflète l’évolution de l’architecture française de l’époque.

Portrait d’Edme Verniquet

Façade Sud

Au début du XIXe siècle, le mariage du Comte Aimé de Chabrillan, Grand Chambellan de France de Napoléon Ier, et de la Comtesse Zéphyrine Olympe de Choiseul Gouffier vient sceller la transmission du domaine à la famille de Chabrillan. Evoluant dans un faste éblouissant, les nouveaux propriétaires poursuivent les travaux d’embellissements initiés par leurs aïeux. Marqueur incontestable de la suprématie économique, sociale et politique de ces derniers, Digoine se développe de façon spectaculaire entre 1825 et 1842. En effet, une serre de plantes exotiques équipée d’un chauffage au sol d’une rare modernité, une bibliothèque en loupe d’orme et un petit théâtre privé viendront s’ajouter à un patrimoine déjà conséquent. En outre, de fabuleux décors, dont l’un du sculpteur Clodion, sont installés dans les salles majestueuses du château.

Comtesse de Moreton Chabrillan par Paulin Guérin

Escalier d’honneur

Bibliothèque

Roseraie, serre et château – façade Sud

En 1908, la marquise de Croix achète le domaine pour son fils Pierre qui le transmet ensuite sur trois générations. Mais en 2012, des problèmes d’indivision oblige la famille à vendre. Se portant acquéreur, Jean-Louis Rémilleux, actuel propriétaire, rachète, dans un premier temps, le château vide puis, dans un second temps, les éléments historiques qui le composaient ; cela lors d’une grande vente aux enchères à Paris. D’autre part, en passionné d’objets anciens, il ajouta ses propres collections dans les salles majestueuses du château, veillant scrupuleusement à ce que chaque élément soit cohérent avec l’époque de la pièce dans laquelle il se trouve. Enfin, il entreprit d’importants travaux afin de rendre à cette « Perle du Charolais » son éclat d’autrefois.

Salon central

fr_FRFrench
en_GBEnglish fr_FRFrench