Castle of Digoine

The Pearl of Charolais

Spreading over 35 acres, the estate of Digoine is composed of a multitude of spaces with specifics landscaping. These ones offer to the visitor different atmospheres propitious to contemplate, enjoy a stroll or meditate.

  • The southern courtyard

A double row of plane trees, northern red oaks and common lime trees frame the south aisle which formerly constituted the main entrance of the Castle of Digoine. During the Middle-Ages, a drawbridge spanning the dry ditches used to replace the current large portal. After entering, yews topiaries delimit the path leading to the ‘cour d’honneur’ (court of honour). These elements were replanted by the current owner. Classified as Historic Monument, the lines draw to the outline were designed by the famous landscape architect Achille Duchêne.

Southern courtyard

  • The 1920’s parterre

Restored identically to the original one, the parterre adorns the front part of the greenhouse and is also the work of Achille Duchêne. It was drawn upon the request of the Earl de Croix, owner of Digoine all along the 20th century. The rod-shaped roses that we can admire correspond to the species named ‘Jardin de Granville’ (from Normandy).

All boxes (buxus) found in the gardens are treated with Bacillus thuringiensis, a soil-dwelling bacterium, commonly used as a biological pesticide

1920's parterre from Achille Duchêne

  • The greenhouse

Of iron and glasses, the greenhouse was built in 1830 upon the request of the Chabrillan family, in order to cultivate botanical species which would not otherwise get acclimated to the region. The distinctive feature of this building is its boiler below ground, a very modern installation for its time which was used until the 20th century. The greenhouse, restored in 2008, is composed of the plant collection of the current owner. Among them, we can find grapefruit trees, lemon trees and gigantic agave species.

Greenhouse

Inside the greenhouse

  • The rose garden

Built in 2017, the rose garden constitutes one of the major creations of these last few years. Composed of more than 2000 old rosebushes, divided into around 60 species, it is highlighted by more than 600 yews around that form a square shape. The dynamic of the forms and colours of the flowers, in addition to the pleasant scent of the flowers, confer to the rose garden a sweet and soothing atmosphere.

Rose Garden

Rose Countess of Chabrillan

  • Herbaceous border

Facing the rose garden, along the wall that delimits the south courtyard, was designed a coloured flower-bed called in French ‘mixed border’. It includes, among others, magnolias and peonies, in which plants are free to mix with others in a perfect chromatic harmony. Often used in regular English gardens, this concept has been popularised at the end of the 19th century by the specialist of gardens: Gertrude Jekyll.

Herbaceous border

  • The vegetable garden

It was created at the location of a former monk cemetery of the convent of the Picpus fathers (existing from 1609 to 1776), the vegetable garden has been entirely redeveloped. Vegetables that grow in here are cultivated for consumption.

Vegetable garden

  • The New French Garden

As it was completed only in 2018, it is the last external creation of Digoine and is now replacing the former sylvan theatre. Inspired by designs from Achille Duchêne, this landscaping was selected among a dozen suggestions. We can find species such as roses, peonies, dahlias, but also, at the center of the triangular parcels, cultivated garlic and cosmos.

New French Garden

  • English style garden

Qualified as a ‘very beautiful park framing a magnificent pond’ by the Goncourt Brothers, the English style garden dates back from the years 1750-1770. Designed by the architect Edmé Verniquet, this ‘irregular’ garden is very popular at the end of the 18th century, which is in opposition to the ‘dictatorship of garden lines’ from French style gardens, as the French philosopher Rousseau once said.

This park invites us to take a stroll and take time to contemplate, while magnifying the natural beauty of natural landscapes by a very subtle intervention of men. Here, serpentine alleys take place among large lawns which frame the pond and the wooden part. A picturesque detail is present among all, it is a boat house, enhancing this natural framework.

Northern facade through the woods

Pond with Northern facade

en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Château de Digoine

– La Perle du Charolais –

Etendu sur 35 hectares, le domaine de Digoine se compose d’une multitude d’espaces aux aménagements spécifiques. Ces derniers offrent aux visiteurs différentes ambiances propices à la contemplation à la flânerie ou la méditation.

  • L’esplanade Sud

Un double alignement de platanes, de chênes d’Amérique et de tilleuls encadre l’allée sud qui constituait jadis l’accès principal du Château de Digoine. Au Moyen-Âge, un pont-levis enjambant les douves remplaçait le grand portail actuel. Une fois entré, des topiaires d’ifs délimitent le chemin menant à la cour d’honneur. Ces éléments furent replantés par le propriétaire actuel. Classé Monument Historique, le tracé au contour de l’espace en herbe est signé du célèbre architecte paysagiste Achille Duchêne.

Esplanade Sud

  • Le parterre 1920 d’ Achille Duchêne

Restauré à l’identique de celui d’origine, le parterre agrémentant la partie avant de la serre est également l’œuvre d’Achille Duchêne. Il fut dessiné à la demande du Comte de Croix, propriétaires du domaine de Digoine tout au long du XXe siècle. Les rosiers tiges que l’on peut y admirer aujourd’hui correspondent à la variété « Jardin de Granville »

Les buis présents dans les jardins sont traités au bacillus thuringiensis, une bactérie naturelle.

Parterre 1920 d’Achille Duchêne

  • La serre

De fer et de verre, la serre fut construite en 1830 à la demande des Chabrillan afin d’y cultiver des espèces végétales qui n’auraient pu s’acclimater à la région. Bâtiment particulièrement onéreux, la démarche consistant à dépenser des sommes importantes dans le but de détenir un pouvoir sur la nature faisait de la serre un symbole de réussite sociale. Particulièrement moderne pour l’époque, une chaudière installée en sous-sol diffusa jusqu’au XXe siècle la chaleur via des tuyaux sous des tablettes. Restaurée en 2008, la serre abrite aujourd’hui la collection de plantes du propriétaire. S’y trouvent, entre autres, des pamplemoussiers, des citronniers et un gigantesque agave.

Serre

Intérieur de la serre

  • La roseraie

Aménagée en 2017, la roseraie constitue l’une des créations majeures de ces dernières années. Présentant plus de 2000 rosiers anciens répartis en une soixantaine de variétés, elle est mise en valeur par des chambres végétales composées de 600 jeunes ifs. La dynamique des formes et des couleurs portée par des parfums particulièrement flatteurs confère à la roseraie une atmosphère douce et apaisante dans laquelle le public aime à s’attarder.

Roseraie

Rose Comtesse de Chabrillan

  • Le mixed border

Face à la roseraie, le long du mur qui délimite l’esplanade Sud, fut aménagée une plate-bande colorée appelée « mixed border ». Comprenant, entre autres, magnolias et pivoines, le « mixed-border » est un espace dans lequel la liberté est laissée aux plantes de se mélanger à d’autres dans une harmonie chromatique parfaitement étudiée. Très présent dans les jardins réguliers anglais, son concept a été popularisé à la fin du XIXe siècle par la spécialiste des jardins Gertrude Jekyll.

Mixed border

  • Le jardin potager

Aménagé à l’emplacement de l’ancien cimetière du Couvent des Frères Picpus (ayant existé de 1609 à 1776), le jardin potager a entièrement été remis en valeur. Les légumes qui y poussent sont cultivés pour la consommation.

Potager

  • Le Nouveau Jardin Français

Dernière création extérieure de Digoine, le Nouveau Jardin français a été finalisé en 2018 et vient remplacer un ancien théâtre de verdure. Inspiré par les réalisations d’Achille Duchêne, il fut sélectionné parmi une dizaine de propositions. On y trouve diverses espèces dont les rosiers, les pivoines, les dahlias, mais aussi, au centre des parcelles triangulaires, de l’ail décoratif et du cosmos. Installé par le propriétaire, un pot à feu constitue le point central de la réalisation.

Nouveau jardin français

  • Le Jardin à l’Anglaise

Qualifié de « Très beau parc encadrant une magnifique pièce d’eau » par Jules et Edmond de Goncourt, le Jardin à l’Anglaise date des années 1750 – 1770. Dessiné par l’architecte Edmé Verniquet ce jardin dit « irrégulier » s’implante de manière radicale à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, rompant avec la « dicature du cordeau » des Jardins à la Française pour reprendre l’expression d’un certain Jean-Jacques Rousseau…

Invitant à la promenade et à la contemplation, le Jardin à l’Anglaise tend à magnifier la beauté naturelle des paysages par une intervention toute en subtilité derrière laquelle la présence de l’homme se fait oublier. Ici, les allées serpentent entre de grandes pelouses qui bordent l’étang et les parties boisées à la périphérie. Très pittoresque, une cabane à bateau (appelée « boat house » en Angleterre) vient sublimer ce cadre particulièrement apaisant.

Façade Nord depuis les bois

Etang avec façade Nord en arrière plan

fr_FRFrench
en_GBEnglish fr_FRFrench