Castle of Digoine

The Pearl of Charolais


Iconic curiosity of Digoine, the small theatre is one of these fragile and magnificent heritage jewels. Built in 1842 upon the request of the Earl and the Countess of Chabrillan, they received guests every summer. Some very well known, like the Goncourt brothers, who will describe the theatre like a “smaller scale version of the Versailles theatre”.

Small theatre

Replica of Italian theatres of the 18th century, this authentic room was conceived by Pierre-Luc-Charles Cicéri, a court painter and head designer of the Paris Opera. We owe him the magnificent stage curtain painted in a ‘trompe-l’œil’ way with imitations of draperies richly adorned. Still from the same artist, stage decorations which represent a forest, a prison, a kitchen and a living room are still very well preserved.

One of the theatre's decoration

The room has perfect proportions, with its red, gold and white setting and its very particular room acoustic, and could invite around 200 guests while still possessing todays all the traditional attributes of a theatre : a stage with the complete machinery, the gallery, stage rooms, an orchestra pit and the prompter’s box.

As a real ‘théâtre de société’ (‘society theater’), the atmosphere mixed entertainment and intimacy. For instance, to pay tribute to the lady of the house, it was common practice for the guests to put on a little show, an impromptu where they went on stage to caricature in a subtle way the others invited.

Invited in this unique location by the Countess of Chabrillan in 1851, the young cellist Jacques Offenbach composed ‘daydream by the seashore’ and the ‘Triumphal waltz of Digoine’. Unfortunately, the partition of this last one has never been retrieved. Besides, in 1900, the stage-boards of the theatre have been used by the actress Sarah Bernhardt, who came to repeat a play from Edmond Rostand named ‘l’Aiglon’ (eaglet).

Jacques Offenbach by Nadar

Daydream by the seashore

Theatre program

Postcard of Sarah Bernhardt in "l'Aiglon"

The small theatre which is ‘in its own juice’ to use the expression, is part of the next elements that will be restored in the estate.

en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Château de Digoine

– La Perle du Charolais –


Curiosité emblématique de Digoine, le petit théâtre est l’un de ces joyaux fragile et grandiose du patrimoine. Edifié en 1842 à la demande du Comte et de la Comtesse de Chabrillan, il recevait chaque été des invités ; certains de renom comme les frères Goncourt qui décriront dans leurs correspondances le théâtre comme le « petit modèle de la salle de Versailles ».

Petit théâtre

Réplique des théâtres à l’italienne du XVIIIe siècle, cette salle authentique fut conçue par Pierre-Luc-Charles Cicéri, peintre de la Cour et décorateur en chef de l’Opéra de Paris. Elle a conservé un très riche décor avec, notamment, le magnifique rideau de scène peint en trompe-l’œil. Du même artiste, des décors de scènes représentant respectivement une forêt, une prison une cuisine et un salon sont toujours admirablement conservés.

L’un des décors du petit théâtre

D’une proportion parfaite, avec son décor rouge, or et blanc et son acoustique si particulière, cet espace pouvait recevoir 200 invités et possède encore aujourd’hui tous ses attributs d’époque : la scène équipée d’une machinerie complète, le parterre, le blacon, les loges d’avant-scène, la fosse d’orchestre et le trou du souffleur.

Véritable « théâtre de société », l’ambiance que l’on y trouvait mêlait amusement et intimité. Par exemple, pour rendre hommage à la comtesse de Chabrillan, il était d’usage de la part des invités de monter un petit spectacle ou impromptu à travers lequel ils se mettaient en scène en se caricaturant les uns et les autres.

Invité dans ce lieu unique par la Comtesse de Chabrillan en 1851, le jeune violoncelliste Jacques Offenbach y composa « Rêverie au bord de la mer » et « La valse triomphale du Château de Digoine ». Malheureusement, la partition de cette dernière œuvre n’a jamais été retrouvée. Par ailleurs, en 1900, les planches ont vu passer l’actrice Sarah Bernhardt venue répéter « l’Aiglon » d’Edmond Rostand.

Jacques Offenbach par Nadar

Partition de Rêverie au bord de la Mer

Programme des pièces de théâtres

Carte postale de Sarah Bernhardt dans « l’Aiglon »

« Dans son jus » pour reprendre l’expression, le petit théâtre fait partie des prochains éléments à restaurer sur le domaine.

fr_FRFrench
en_GBEnglish fr_FRFrench